The Backup Plan

Book Title: The Backup Plan, Giving Up or Moving On?
Author: Elsie McArthur
Author Type: Indie
Star Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
Saucy Romance Rating: 🔥🔥
Release Date: January 17, 2020
Recommend: Yes

Marsaili McKenzie’s current life finds her unlucky in the pursuit of her acting career and unlucky in love. Swearing off men to give her career one last go before she throws in the towel and gets a real job is the goal, but the universe has other plans when it plants two gorgeous men in her path. One is an actor named Euan, at the Glasgow theatre where she works as a barmaid, the other is her boss, Will. Marsaili must choose between men and careers, and in the process, she just might find herself instead.

I enjoyed this book completely and gave it 5 stars. This book is wonderful for readers who enjoy Women’s Fiction and Contemporary Romance. I especially loved that the narration was written with a lyrically Scottish approach that flowed beautifully. It is the first time I have read a book narrated like this, and it was a complete joy to read. It was a great break from the typical US translations I’m used to. Her book was defiantly an escape to Scotland.

Elsie McArthur is an indie author that created an entertaining story about a thirty-something woman trying to get her life back on track. It was hard to put down once I started reading. It kept me hooked, and my need to know what would happen next propelled me through the novel. Marsaili, Will, and Euan are all well-developed characters. I got to know each of them. Marsaili frustrated me and gained my respect as the character developed. The story is easy to read and flows well through the highs and lows as Marsaili experienced them.

All and all, a delightful must-read book!

Disclaimer: I purchased this book with my own funds. The author and/or publisher have no expectations of a positive review. My opinions are my own.

Where’d You Go, Bernadette?

Happy Book Lovers Day Bookish by Nature readers!! I figured today would be a great day for a book review…and this one is a great read — Where’d You Go, Bernadette? by Maria Semple — The book will become a motion picture adaptation in October 2018!

201504-book-bernadette-949x1356I enjoyed this book immensely, giving it 4 STARS. It is cute and quirky. An epistolary novel written from the perspective of Bernadette’s daughter Bee. In the novel, we learn from Bee that Bernadette is a wonderfully brilliant and eccentric woman who owns up to her shortcomings and stands up to the antagonists with grace and cleverness. Quite honestly Maria Semple had me at the first page:

PART ONE

Mom Versus the Gnats

This first page had me hooked. I was thrilled that I already felt the makings for a good, lighthearted read, and I was not disappointed! Semple wove a tale of highs and lows, struggles and triumphs indicative of the idle middle class. I could see something like this happening in Anywhere, USA. If you’re looking for a good read that doesn’t take itself seriously, with high action, great humor, and a lighthearted air — then this is a great book to dive into! I highly recommend it.

I purchased this book with my own funds with no expectation of a positive review from the author and/or publisher.

The Ghost Writer

ghost writer

Alessandra Torre has created something special here! Ghost Writer is one of a kind! A must read that I couldn’t put down. Hands down this novel gets 5 stars and this is my review.

Helena Ross is a 30-something internationally best selling author who has a secret that is eating her up inside since the loss of her husband and daughter. It isn’t just the loss of her family that eats at her but the terminal cancer she was diagnosed with that has time ticking against her. She seeksthe aid of her arch nemesis in hopes she will help her ghost write a books she is compelled to complete before she dies.

Alessandra Torre masterfully executes this novel with twists, turns, brutal honesty and heart wrenching discoveries that you will never see coming. This book had me hooked from beginning to end, and I never saw the climax coming. Torre had me in tears in unexpected ways and this work will stay with me for some time to come.

I purchased this book with my own funds with no expectation of a positive review from the author and/or publisher.

The War With Grandpa by Robert Kimmel Smith

War with Grandpa

I gave this book 5 stars on Goodreads! It is such a joyful, fun, and spirited book. I love it.

I bought this book to read to my 11 year old son over his summer break. 
Peter and his war with grandpa over getting his room back was the cuties story I have read in a very long time. Robert Kimmel Smith does a wonderful job of weaving this tale from beginning to end with such hilarity. My son and I both loved this book immensely. I would recommend this book to anyone child or adult who wants a good laugh. This book is full of them.

Along with the hilarity, Smith does an excellent job of intermixing three lessons every child can benefit from learning and every adult could us as a reminder.

  1. Don’t let others influence how you handle problems in your life and/or with your family. They aren’t living your life.
  2. War has a way of spiraling out of control. Before you know it everyone is hurt and no one can remember how it started.
  3. Communication is the key to peace.

This was a joy to read with my son and I recommend this quick read for you and your child as well.

I purchased this book with my own funds with no expectation of a positive review from the author and/or publisher.