The Backup Plan

Book Title: The Backup Plan, Giving Up or Moving On?
Author: Elsie McArthur
Author Type: Indie
Star Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
Romance Heat Meter: 🔥🔥
Release Date: January 17, 2020
Recommend: Yes

Marsaili McKenzie’s current life finds her unlucky in the pursuit of her acting career and unlucky in love. Swearing off men to give her career one last go before she throws in the towel and gets a real job is the goal, but the universe has other plans when it plants two gorgeous men in her path. One is an actor named Euan, at the Glasgow theatre where she works as a barmaid, the other is her boss, Will. Marsaili must choose between men and careers, and in the process, she just might find herself instead.

I enjoyed this book completely and gave it 5 stars. This book is wonderful for readers who enjoy Women’s Fiction and Contemporary Romance. I especially loved that the narration was written with a lyrically Scottish approach that flowed beautifully. It is the first time I have read a book narrated like this, and it was a complete joy to read. It was a great break from the typical US translations I’m used to. Her book was defiantly an escape to Scotland.

Elsie McArthur is an indie author that created an entertaining story about a thirty-something woman trying to get her life back on track. It was hard to put down once I started reading. It kept me hooked, and my need to know what would happen next propelled me through the novel. Marsaili, Will, and Euan are all well-developed characters. I got to know each of them. Marsaili frustrated me and gained my respect as the character developed. The story is easy to read and flows well through the highs and lows as Marsaili experienced them.

All and all, a delightful must-read book!

Disclaimer: I purchased this book with my own funds. The author and/or publisher have no expectations of a positive review. My opinions are my own.

Stray Witch

Title: Stray Witch by Eva Alton
Indie Author
Star Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
Romance Heat Meter: 🔥
Release Date: May 26, 2020
Recommended: Yes

Stray Witch is the debut novel of Eva Alton and is Book 1 in The Vampires of Emberbury series. The story follows Alba’s life. She’s trapped in a loveless marriage to a narcissist named Mark and meets Clarence, a vampire, that’s been sent to recruit her to work for The Cloister. He reveals what she really is. She’s no mere mortal. She’s a witch who comes from a long line of witches. Alba doesn’t believe, but she’s faced with a choice to continue in a toxic marriage or pretend to be this witch and get away from the dangerous man she lives with.

Alton has created a lovely story with twists and turns one doesn’t expect until you’re in them. I found myself rooting for Alba, angry at her, wanting to kick her in the backside and cheering her on. The story had me hooked from the first page to the last. The pace was executed very well. She writes with eloquence and paces the book perfectly where the highs are high and the lows are low. The author masterfully created Mark as an antagonist I loved to hate and Clearance, the broody vampire with a dark past was hard to resist and can’t seem to keep away from Alba. The plot, characters, and story arc are all fully developed and believable.

All and all I absolutely enjoyed this book from the storyline to the characters. I became emotionally invested in them and can’t wait to see what happens next when Book 2 in the series, Witch’s Mirror, publishes on December 5, 2020. I would recommend this read to anyone who loves the paranormal romance and magical realism genres and earned a 5 star rating from me and a 1 on the saucy romance meter.

Disclaimer: This book was purchased with my own funds. There is no expectation of a positive review from the author or publisher.